2021 Impact factor 1.624
Soft Matter and Biological Physics

EPJ E News - Ramin Golestanian awarded the Pierre-Gilles de Gennes Lecture Prize

Ramin Golestanian awarded the 2017 EPJE Pierre-Gilles de Gennes Lecture Prize.
Ramin Golestanian

The Editors of EPJE are delighted to announce the winner of the EPJE Pierre Gilles De Gennes Lecture Prize. This year the prestigious prize has been awarded to Iranian physicist Ramin Golestanian, for his outstanding theoretical contributions to the physics of microswimmers and their hydrodynamic interactions which have led to a series of exciting new discoveries and stimulated the development of the field of active matter.

The EPJE Pierre-Gilles de Gennes lecture will be delivered by Golestanian on Thursday 20th July at the 10th Liquid Matter Conference in Ljubljana, Slovenia.

Ramin Golestanian completed his PhD at the Institute for Advanced Studies in Basic Sciences (IASBS) in Zanjan, Iran, under the remote supervision of Mehran Kardar from MIT. He followed with an independent postdoctoral research fellowship at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics at the University of California at Santa Barbara. Before joining the University of Oxford in 2010 as professor of theoretical condensed matter physics, he held academic positions at IASBS and the University of Sheffield. His broad research interests include nonequilibrium statistical physics, soft matter, and biological physics. Golestanian is renowned for his work on active matter and, in particular, for his role in developing microscopic swimmers and active colloids. He is recipient of the Holweck Medal of the Société Française de Physique and the Institute of Physics. He recently edited a special issue on active matter in EPJE together with physicist Sriram Ramaswamy.

This is the sixth time that this prestigious prize, named after the Nobel laureate who founded EPJE, has been awarded. The prize is sponsored by the European Physical Journal (EPJ) co-publishers, which are: the Italian Physical Society (SIF), EDP Sciences and Springer. It is awarded to outstanding scientists for their contribution to soft matter research. Previous recipients of this prize were Sam Safran, Mike Cates, Julia Yeomans and Ludwik Leibler and Regine von Klitzing.

F. Croccolo, G. Fragneto and H. Stark
The proofs look beautiful. Thank you for doing such a wonderful job with the manuscript. The figures in particular turned out great.

Gavin Buxton

ISSN (Print Edition): 1292-8941
ISSN (Electronic Edition): 1292-895X

© EDP Sciences, Società Italiana di Fisica and Springer-Verlag